Posted in Uncategorized

The Ol’ Reading Slump

For the last two or three weeks, I’ve maybe read a total of 100 pages. That’s not to say I’m not enjoying the book I’m currently reading, Scarlet by Marissa Meyer, but I’ve had such little time to do it. My job does not have a set schedule and this month we’ve been on 12 hour shifts. Half of them from 7 Am – 7 PM and half from 7 PM – 7 AM. It messes with my sleep schedule and when I’m not working, I’d rather do something that doesn’t require my brain, such as watching TV or leveling up my digimon in Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth for PS4. I haven’t even had much time for either of those things either though.

My girlfriend is currently between jobs and we’ve started a cupcake business from home so we’ve spent many hours together when I’m not at work, both hanging out and baking. I don’t read when I’m with her (often) because I like to immerse myself in the books and for that I need to be in solitude with no noise. However, the good news is that hopefully next week we’ll have more staff on our management team and can go back to our 9-hour shifts which will give me more reading time.

The other problem with this 12-hour schedule is that I’m so tired all the time, which is also why I haven’t posted any chapters of the novel I want to write either. I posted that I will likely start posting a chapter every Friday or something like that and while I have it all planned out in detail, no actual writing has happened yet. Such is life, I guess.

Anyway, I just wanted to post this because it’s been a week since I last posted a blog post and I didn’t want anybody to think I’d stopped with the blog. Even my instagram has slowed down quite a bit. Fingers crossed for a more regular schedule next month and more reading time so I can finish Scarlet and post a review for y’all.

 

Leave a comment