Posted in book review

Red Seas Under Red Skies Review

Locke Lamora’s adventures continue in the second novel of the Gentleman Bastards sequence by Scott Lynch. This sequel sees Jean and Locke planning a heist while avoiding mystery assassins. They become unwilling participants in piracy and must find a way to take matters back into their own hands.

It was a nice change to have more female characters in RSURS. They were strong, well-written characters who fit nicely into the group dynamic. Zamira Drakasha and Ezri Delmastro were quite likeable, in spite of being pirates. It was easy to root for them throughout the novel. Selendri was interesting enough that I wish the novel had spent more time on her. Even Merrain left me eager for more. All in all, I was really happy with the new cast of characters. I’m really looking forward to reading about Sabetha whenever she finally pops up.

A large part of the novel took place at sea, and Scott Lynch threw in a large amount of nautical terminology. He did so masterfully, with the reader learning terms as Locke and Jean learned them. As someone with no point of reference for these terms, I felt that I learned the terms well enough that they never took me out of the story.

I was often in awe of Lynch’s imagination. He comes up with such wondrous games and events and I found myself inspired and wanting to learn more about the world of these novels. It was great to explore new locations and hierarchies of power.

The humour that was prevalent in Book One was still sprinkled throughout Book Two but it was understandable that it wasn’t quite as funny as the first. A lot of the funny characters from the first book were unable to be in this one, and while Jean and Lock are still humorous enough to supply plenty of laughs. There was a small portion of the book where Locke wasn’t quite in the right mindset for humour.

Overall, I really liked this novel and felt that everything was wrapped up nicely. There are still two or three dangling threads that I can think of but I’m sure Scott Lynch has planned out how they’ll fit into the other novels so I’m not worried.

5 out of 5 Stars!

Leave a Reply

